Über Thrive

THRIVE is cofunded by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union and is being conducted by a multidisciplinary team of researchers from several institutions across Europe. The Institute of Child Education and Psychology (ICEP) Europe, who are based in Ireland, are leading this project in collaboration with Kildare Wicklow Education and Training Board (Ireland), Verein Multikulturell (Austria), University of Malta (Malta), CESIE (Italy) and AESD (Romania). This innovative partnership brings together educators, teachers, researchers, and clinical, educational and occupational psychologists.

Das THRIVE-Programm wird auf Forschungen in den Bereichen Neurowissenschaften, traumasensitive Erziehung, positive Psychologie und aktuelle Best-Practice-Beispiele in Bildungseinrichtungen des zweiten Bildungsweges aufbauen, um die Bedürfnisse und Prioritäten von Pädagogen und Lernenden in diesem Sektor zu verstehen und ein traumainformiertes Ausbildungsprogramm für Pädagogen, die mit Schulabbrechern arbeiten, zu entwickeln.

THRIVE wurde 2018 ins Leben gerufen und wird über einen Zeitraum von zwei Jahren durchgeführt.

Der Hintergrund von THRIVE

Der zweite Bildungsweg bietet Schulabbrechern, die die Schule frühzeitig verlassen haben, eine entscheidende Gelegenheit, wieder auf den richtigen Weg zu kommen, ihre Fähigkeiten zu stärken und längerfristige, negative Ergebnisse zu vermeiden. Untersuchungen haben jedoch gezeigt, dass die überwiegende Mehrheit derer, die das reguläre Bildungssystem verlassen, traumatische oder negative Lebenserfahrungen gemacht haben (NEPS, 2017). Unerwünschte Kindheitserfahrungen oder ACEs können Familientrennung, Missbrauch oder benachteiligte Umstände beinhalten. 

ACEs haben erhebliche Konsequenzen für die Lernenden und ihre schulischen Erfahrungen und können auch für Pädagogen eine Herausforderung darstellen. Die Früherkennung und Prävention von ACEs sowie interventionsfokussierte Dienste innerhalb von Bildungseinrichtungen des zweiten Bildungswegs haben jedoch das Potenzial, die negativen Auswirkungen zu verringern und die intergenerationelle Übertragung von Trauma und Widrigkeiten zu unterbinden.

Das Bewusstsein für ACEs und ein trauma-informierter Bildungsansatz können Pädagogen dabei helfen, ein vertieftes Verständnis für die posttraumatischen Auswirkungen von ACEs zu entwickeln und die Ergebnisse für junge Menschen, die sie erlebt haben, zu verbessern. Eine traumainformierte Praxis erkennt auch die Auswirkungen von sekundären Traumata auf die Beschäftigten an und fördert die Entwicklung unterstützender Netzwerke und organisatorischer Umgebungen innerhalb der Dienstleistungssysteme. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass Fachkräfte in Kinder-, Familien- und Gemeindeservicesystemen, insbesondere diejenigen, die mit gefährdeten Bevölkerungen, sind einem erhöhten Risiko ausgesetzt, sekundären traumatischen Stress und Burnout zu erleben (Salloum, Choib & Smith-Stover, 2018).

 

Was werden wir tun?

Verstehen, was funktioniert

* Entwicklung eines konsolidierten Literaturüberblicks, um ein Verständnis für die aktuellen traumabezogenen Angebote in Bildungseinrichtungen der zweiten Chance in den Partnerländern zu entwickeln

* Durchführung von Feldforschung mit Pädagogen, die mit Schulabbrechern arbeiten, um deren Wahrnehmung und Verständnis der Arbeit mit Schulabbrechern, die möglicherweise ein Trauma erlebt haben, zu erforschen

Entwicklung einer traumainformierten Ausbildung für Pädagogen im Bereich der zweiten Chance

* Auf der Grundlage der Erkenntnisse aus der Feldarbeit und der neurowissenschaftlichen Forschung werden positive Psychologie und traumasensitive Bildung in die Entwicklung eines innovativen Ausbildungspakets für Pädagogen des zweiten Bildungswegs einfließen, das die Kapazität für traumasensitive Bildung in Bildungseinrichtungen des zweiten Bildungswegs stärken und die Ergebnisse für Schulabbrecher verbessern wird.


Dieses Projekt wurde mit Unterstützung der Europäischen Kommission im Rahmen des Programms Erasmus+ finanziert. Die Verantwortung für den Inhalt dieser Veröffentlichung [Mitteilung] trägt allein der Verfasser; die Kommission haftet nicht für die weitere Verwendung der darin enthaltenen Angaben.
de_ATGerman

About Thrive

THRIVE is cofunded by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union and is being conducted by a multidisciplinary team of researchers from several institutions across Europe. The Institute of Child Education and Psychology (ICEP) Europe, who are based in Ireland, are leading this project in collaboration with Kildare Wicklow Education and Training Board (Ireland), Verein Multikulturell (Austria), University of Malta (Malta), CESIE (Italy) and AESD (Romania). This innovative partnership brings together educators, teachers, researchers, and clinical, educational and occupational psychologists.

The THRIVE programme will build on research in neuroscience, trauma-sensitive education, positive psychology and current best-practices in second chance educational settings to understand the needs and priorities of educators and learners in this sector, and to develop a trauma-informed training programme for educators working with early school leavers.

THRIVE was launched in 2018 and will be conducted over a two-year period.

The Background to THRIVE

Second chance education provides a crucial opportunity for early school leavers to get back on track, strengthen skills and avoid longer-term, adverse outcomes. However, research has shown that the vast majority of those who leave mainstream educational settings have experienced traumatic or adverse life events (NEPS, 2017). Adverse Childhood Experiences or ACEs can include exposure to family separation, abuse or disadvantaged circumstances. 

ACEs have significant consequences for learners and their school experiences, and can also pose challenges for educators. However early detection and prevention of ACEs, as well as intervention-focused services within second chance education settings have the potential to reduce the negative impact and break the intergenerational transmission of trauma and adversity.

Awareness of ACEs and a trauma-informed approach to education can help educators to develop an in-depth understanding of the  post-traumatic impact of ACEs and improve outcomes for young people who have experienced them. Trauma-informed practice also recognises the impact of secondary trauma on workers and promotes the development of supportive networks and organisational environments within service systems. It has been shown that professionals within child, family and community service systems, particularly those working with vulnerable populations, are at increased risk of experiencing secondary traumatic stress and burnout (Salloum, Choib & Smith-Stover, 2018).

 

What will we do?

Understanding what works

* Develop a consolidated literature review building an understanding of current trauma-informed provisions in second chance education settings across the partner countries

* Conduct fieldwork with educators working with early school leavers exploring their perceptions and understandings of working with early school leavers who may have experienced trauma

Developing trauma-informed training for educators in second chance education

* Using findings from the fieldwork, together with research in neuroscience, positive psychology and trauma-sensitive education will be used to inform the development of an innovative training package for second chance educators which will strengthen capacity for trauma-sensitive education in second chance education settings and improve outcomes for early school leavers


This project has been funded with support from the European Commission under the Erasmus+ Programme. This publication [communication] reflects the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.
en_USEnglish